To Be Heard

 

 

My voice

My

Inhibitions

Are guarded

I speak slowly

I speak

Precise

I speak with purpose

A pattern without rhythm

Yet in its own way

Poetic

In a desire

To be known

To be heard

 

Pausing

Thoughts gathering

No umm

No err

Just silent contemplation

Always in the moment

Gathering the composure

To carry on

Being heard

 

Not prophetic

But

Always self editing

Always careful

Considered

Correct

For when I speak

It must make sense

It must not be a waste

I must not waste

Any

And every

Chance

To be heard

 

Be it thought provoking

Emotionally evoking

Or simply

Joking

A calm cautious voice

Can passionately speak

Not for vanity

Or indulgence of insanity

But

To take the limited time I have

And make it worthwhile

To be heard

 

Words that are spoken clear

Accessible to anyone

Gracious enough to listen

And for everyone

Who find themselves near

And may not choose to

But happen to hear

All that I choose to say

I my guarded

Mindful

Meticulous way

Come those days

I want nothing more

Than to be heard

 

 

Cameron D Hamilton 21/04/2017

5 thoughts on “To Be Heard

    1. Thank you! I got a little caught up in this after some failed attempts at speaking up. I get so shy, so guarded that I had to evaluate exactly what it is I do and the stresses I put on public speaking of any variety.
      I’m really glad you enjoyed this piece, it was a lot of fun to record and really lean into the introspective contemplative voice

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

