Lost The Will

I’ve lost the will to live today

I need my problems to go away

Broken and beyond bereft

I think I’ve only one choice left

 

I’ve lost the will to live today

I’m not sure how long I can stay

It’s terrifying to comprehend

The finality that may be the end

 

I’ve lost the will to live today

Dreams for life I must betray

Never have I felt this low

I think it’s time for me to go

 

I’ve lost the will to live today

Fed up with all this disarray

To me life no longer makes sense

Posing a choice, to my conscious

 

I’ve lost the will to live today

Yet the dark desires won’t obey

Why can’t I just give up and leave

Is it that, I don’t believe

 

I’ve lost the will to live today

So what’s the deal with my delay

Why am I still holding on

Would giving up really be wrong

 

I’ve lost the will to live today

My world has fully faded to grey

I can’t explain why I feel scared

I thought that I no longer cared

 

I’ve lost the will to live today

But do I still have more to say

Is that what’s causing me to strain

Does part of me, want to remain

 

I’ve lost the will to live today

Would seeing tomorrow be okay

It’s not that I’ve reversed my stance

But maybe, I deserve a chance

 

 

Cameron D Hamilton 29/12/2016

 

 

[The preceding piece has been held back for a while due to the rather bleak theme.  If any of you lovely readers are concerned by its content, please don’t be.  I’m fine, trust me.  Well I’m still eccentrically insane but there’s no fixing that.  I like to think that the piece is an example of some therapeutic writing that’s been used to excise some difficult thoughts.  At its core I rather like how it turned out and I think enough time has passed that I can post it.  Please don’t be afraid to share your own opinions.]

11 thoughts on “Lost The Will

  1. hansbvrger

    It’s nicely put together. I’m the rather dramatic writer but like you said, it’s a therapeutic way to get negative thoughts out. My writings have always been misunderstood because it’s very dark. But keep writing! I find the less I write the more negativity is in my mind and the worse I feel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I truly feel that, sometimes it’s the best form of therapy.
      My writing has often been quite of a journal to feelings of the moment so sometimes I do like to hold back on the release date.
      I certainly shall be writing more and more, as should you! It keeps my mind sharp… I hope.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That really mean alot. It’s such a despairing piece that I needed to give it time to breathe before posting. Then of course I realised that people might worry as it’s so bleak. The therapeutic benefice of this piece were brilliant and posting it now is a victory, I survived and made art in the process.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

