Reciting Burns (A Red, Red Rose)

Every nation has their own cultural icons, people who’ve made an impact to society and the arts beyond local significance.  For Scotland one of the biggest icons is Robert Burns.  On January 25th, the anniversary of his birth, Burns life and work is celebrated country and worldwide.  Robert Burns influence is as far reaching as the bounds of the internet, so it’s only fitting that I add to it here.

 

Today instead of sharing a poem of my own I’d like to share a piece of Burns poetry.  Not only am I sharing the text but I’ve taken a moment to record myself reading the poem.  The piece I picked is simple but speaks to the romantic in me.  I really hope that anyone gracious enough to pass by the blog enjoys it and possibly gets a taste for one of the greatest poets the world has seen.

 

 

A Red, Red Rose

 

 

O my Luve’s like a red, red rose,
That’s newly sprung in June:
O my Luve’s like the melodie,
That’s sweetly play’d in tune.

As fair art thou, my bonie lass,
So deep in luve am I;
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
Till a’ the seas gang dry.

Till a’ the seas gang dry, my dear,
And the rocks melt wi’ the sun;
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
While the sands o’ life shall run.

And fare-thee-weel, my only Luve!
And fare-thee-weel, a while!
And I will come again, my Luve,
Tho’ ’twere ten thousand mile!

 

Robert Burns, 1794

red-red-rose-excerpt-edit

 

5 thoughts on “Reciting Burns (A Red, Red Rose)

  1. Hmmm yes yes very interesting. Guys you should totally come check out my new blog Absolutelyy Everythingg. Its super awesome and fulfilling and I know you’ll love it. It involves music, reading, writing, art and absolutely everything!!! thx sm

    Like

Leave a Reply

