Sign

High atop a hill lives a legendary icon

That touches imaginations world wide

Daring you to dream, it’s a symbol in sky

An aspiration for those brave enough to try

 

 

A simple sign that’s truly a wonder to behold

Inviting entertains to come and find a home

Though the world keeps evolving it stands resolute

Inspiring generations of entertainment recruits

 

 

Pilgrims flock to gaze upon it, all year round

Never has it ever, failed to astound

For many it’s a great stop on a sightseeing tour

While entertainment artists are challenged by its allure

 

 

So much more than nine letters, each over forty feet tall

It awakens an entertainer’s spirit, no matter how small

Until you come to visit you can’t know exactly how you’ll feel

With its power to start you on the journey, of making dreams real

 

 

For over ninety years it’s kept visitors entranced

Enchanted and delighted, enthralled by its romance

For the cinematic artist it’s become their humble shrine

There’s magic on that hilltop, contained within that sign

 

 

Cameron D Hamilton 14/11/2016


 

13 thoughts on “Sign

  1. No no I’m from Scotland. I mean that I’ve seen the hollywood sign all my life in tv movies magazines. it’s a cultural icon and to actually visit the country and thr city it stand in was an experience I’ll not soon forget

    Like

  2. Glad you had a great trip. Did you see that someone snuck up there recently and switched the “O”s in “wood” to “E”s?? Pretty funny stuff. It has since been returned to normal. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really was, im slowly getting photos up on Instagram but I havnt done much here. I’m still not sure what to say. I think I’m still grieving that I had to come home. There’s some unfinished poetry and a few stories to tell but I think I might hold back, keep something just for me.

      I did see the Hollyweed, im not surprised in the slightest it happened.
      You’d think security would be better, from what I was reading it sounds like this happens once or twice a decade.
      I wish I could have gotten a little closer, maybe next time… the tour I booked was a tad lacking. Gives me more reason to return…. when my bank says I’m allowed to again 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

