Unbreakable String

 

 

Upon my sleeve, I’ve always worn my heart

Stitched on with unbreakable string

Protecting me from being emotionally torn apart

From this world with its ability to sting

 

 

It’s a risk having your heart stitched to your sleeve

But far greater, if it’s not fastened secure

Woven with the strength of hopes and dreams

This string holds a fragile heart good and pure

 

 

It shows a lot of wear, covered in fine jagged cracks

But the string always keeps it together

It refuses to allow my caring nature to collapse

It won’t allow those ties to be severed

 

 

The hearts on my sleeve’s no stranger to breaking

It happens more often than I’d like

It’s resilient despite all the splintered aching

String holding no matter how harsh the strike

 

 

Regardless of how often my heart breaks or shatters

It will never fall off of my sleeve

The string that secures it defends from attackers

It’s far stronger than you’ll ever conceive

yarn heart

 

 

Cameron D Hamilton 24/08/2016


 

27 thoughts on “Unbreakable String

  1. VictoryInTrouble

    I love this!! I have a poem with a similar sentiment – actually I think it’s on soundcloud so you might have heard it. Warmth Carries On. This is how my life is but I’d rather that than a hardened cold heart kept to myself. Lovely, Cameron!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are some shared parallels between the two poems, im awfully fond of yours, or maybe it’s just the whispering again😄
      It’s a wonderful sentiment and a better way to live…even if the pains can be a little rougher.
      I seem to be working in an unite tonal sequel this evening. I’m following it to see where it goes.
      Regardless I’m thrilled you enjoyed this!!!

      Liked by 1 person

            1. …that’s what they all say but then they start to get concerned that’s it’s being going on too long and the doctor has to be called and I have to spend the night in a padded room 😄

              The sequel is turning into a more spiritual sequel than a continuation but I’m liking where it’s going.

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I’ve been eagerly awaiting this one!! I love how truly is depicts someone that will risk everything to love, every single time. No amount of heartbreak can destroy the romantic’s desire to love again. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwww thank you! I’m in the middle of something similarly tied to this its kind of a sequel but more in spirit.
      I’m very glad you like this I’m sorry it took so long to get to. Big list of nonsense in my head and my whiteboard 😄

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s how I live my life. It’s daunting and you get hurt often but it makes life more interesting to choose to embrace your emotions and not be afraid. My old work didn’t much approve of it and when it came time to choose I chose my heart before a soulless business… yet they were still surprised by my choice. Some people 😄
      I’m really glad this spoke to you and your found something that might be useful. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Well I constantly fail at it but I don’t give up trying. I hide for a while or go outside at 4am when noone else is around. I don’t know what I am mentally, I just stick with eccentric that kind covered the mad stuff I do and the Hermit like reclusiveness.
          The secret to walking among them is earphones…but often that doesn’t stop the charity workers…especially the pretty ones 😄

          Like

Leave a Reply

