Goodbye

 

 

Goodbye to you my mistress

Of ill received desires

I’ll no longer cause you distress

My advances will be retired

 

 

There may never be another

That makes me feel the way you do

But if I don’t let go, I’ll suffer

Therefore I have to bid you adieu

 

 

You won’t be easy to get over

The best ones never are

I don’t want to give you the cold shoulder

You’re the best person I’ve ever met, by far

 

 

I promise I’ll never avoid you

I’ll always be your friend

I just can’t continue to chase you

My unrequited romantics must end

 

 

I may be a little bit distant

While I repair my broken heart

It pains me that I wasn’t sufficient

I’m sorry, but I need a fresh start

 

 

I don’t know how long I’ll be gone

I don’t know if I’ll even be missed

I don’t mean to keep rambling on

Right now I know, we just can’t co-exist

 

 

I truly hope that during this time

You’re life is full of amazing adventures

I know with some space I’ll be fine

And accept that we can’t be together

 

 

So goodbye for now my love

I’ll pester you no more

The time has come, to get rid of

The love, that you’ve chose to ignore

goodbye-for-now-image.png

 

 

Cameron D Hamilton 14/06/2016


 

The preceding poem was written to say goodbye to the girl I love but who couldn’t/wouldn’t ever reciprocate.  We hadn’t spoken in well over a month at this point and this poem was written is attempts to find closure.  It was never sent and never published until today (14/08/16) and is an unintended sequel to my poem That Special One.  At the end of June she began speaking to me again but I had abandoned my romantics choosing to try and be her friend.  It’s something I struggle with to this day.  I find myself at a crossroads in my life and have chosen to publish this today as a sign to myself that I need to stop holding onto feelings from the past.  I still live in hope that the girl and I could be together someday, but if I don’t choose to move forward, there’s no way I’ll ever have a chance.

9 thoughts on “Goodbye

  1. It’s never an easy feat to leave the one your heart wants most. It’s equally as hard to not hope that it will be different one day. I feel your pain but also your resilience to go onward with the best attitude you can. Wonderful poem, as always

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Awww thank you so much❤

      Things are alot clearer than when this was written. I still hold my desires it its silent and will have to stay that way. She may I spire more poetry in me but for now it’s a quiet hope.

      I’m glad you liked this little slice of heartache 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t like for you to hurt but it’s nice to see different aspects of your life. Things in our past have an interesting way of coming back to us as inspiration

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Me neither!

    I really liked this piece but having it sat on my desktop as unpublished was a constant reminded. Now the words are free it’s a freedom.
    Yes my feelings have changed since writing this and I don’t need a goodbye but it’s too a good piece to bury.

    I expect this girl to always inspire me in differing ways and for that I’ll always be thankful

    Like

Leave a Reply

