Unrequited

 

Unreturned-Love

 

I want to admit my true feelings

Even though they won’t be reciprocated

It’s hard for me always concealing

That I’m hopelessly infatuated

 

I’ve no doubts my love is already known

Although I’ve yet to speak it aloud

In my actions and affection I believe it’s been shown

But I’ve no doubts, it’ll never be allowed

 

Is it foolish to expose my love-struck heart

When the answer is already clear

If I speak up, will friendship fall apart

Will my hopes and dreams disappear

 

How can I tell her I’ve fallen for her charms

How can I even dream to dare

How do I stop myself causing her harm

How do I stop these feelings I want to share

 

To unburden myself would be unfair

Inappropriate, selfish and cruel

Still my heart, it continues to dare

Tempting me to brave ridicule

 

My awkward attempts at flirting

Will never get a mutual reply

I find it awfully disconcerting

That I vain I continue to try

 

Life would be simpler if we both felt the same

Sadly I know that’s not the case

In revealing the truth I’ll only cause pain

Pure of intent but respect and kindness misplaced

 

I need to silence my amorous desires

Try to be a good friend

Romantic caution will be required

If I must hide my feelings and pretend

 

How dare I dream to inflict such a burden

On someone who I truly adore

Though the feelings in my heart are clear and certain

There can be no love for us to explore

 

Unrequited, but all my romantics are real

Friends, but we’ll never be together

I know it would be wrong to explain how I feel

I’m in love, but I’ll never be able to tell her

 

 

Cameron D Hamilton 11/08/2016


 

20 thoughts on “Unrequited

  1. rakhioverhere

    This is so incredible. It’s actually sounds like my story. But, I told him. And, after 3 to 4 months we ended our friendship. No matter, how hard I tried to save it. Btw, this poem really touched my heart 😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwww thank you so much ❤
      I’m so sorry that it all fell apart for you. That’s the worst part with stories like these, you’re in desperate need to unburned your love but if the object of your affections doesn’t feel the same it’s tragic
      I’m glad this touched you, I think it’s a good piece of tormented love. ❤❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. …tell me about it, urgh it’s a nightmare 😧
      Hope is powerful and tragic when it comes to unrequited love. Still it reminds me that no matter how broken I get, I still find a way to love again. It would help if I stopped picking th wrong women but I’ve never been romantically clever 😄

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I honestly never do, I always belive it’s me. I’m the one common factor in failed affection. I know it’s silly and I know that not everyone is a match for each other but I can’t ever imagine that the girl I pine for would be a problem

          Torrid you say 😄 I’ll look forward to that…although at 29 young might be a stretch but I’ll take it 😋❤

          Liked by 1 person

  2. She must be deaf, blind, and maybe half brained..not to speak ill of her. But come on..any girl would have to be brain damaged to not love your charm and ability to love so tenderly

    Liked by 1 person

          1. My first thought when I heard you recite your poetry was… you have the perfect narrative voice – there is speaking, and then there is narrating. You are emotive, you are able to breathe intent and mood into each word. Pursue this dream 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

            1. That’s such an incredibly observation. I’m floored by it. Honestly that’s so unbelievably sweet. Narrating would be amazing, I’d throughly enjoy that.
              With encouragement like yours this is something I must peruse, what a dream it would be
              ❤❤❤❤❤

              Liked by 1 person

              1. I so glad you’re inspired by that. Really I imagined an opening scene from a movie or a documentary. Keep your eye on National Geographic’s website. I’ve heard they advertise for all sorts. Haven’t checked personally, but it’s what I’ve been told. Ask Google…. I ask him everything ;P

                Liked by 1 person

                1. NatGeo? That would be really fun, I shall need to add that to my alerts, thank you so much for the idea!

                  Oh my and Mr Google are great friends, ever since I discovered I dominate my own Google search for my name, he’s had my love and respect 😄

                  Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

