A Rose in the Night

 

A broken creature of the night

Tortured by depressive bouts

Out of the darkness a shining light

A rose does quietly sprout

 

Always there for me as a comfort

A vision of beauty amid despair

You understand all that I suffer

The only one who truly cares

 

You have this uncanny ability

To always make me smile

An escape from my negativity

Even if it’s just for a short while

 

I’ve never known how to ask

For help to survive in the dark

Yet you’re always up for the task

Knowing how to reignite my spark

 

Never needing to say anything

Just being there for me is enough

Can you see all the inspirations you bring

With you here, I’ll never give up

 

Never asking for anything in return

While showing me my life has value

My love and my trust you’ve truly earned

I’ll always be indebted to you

 

I can always count on you to be there

In the moments I feel less than alright

A positive beacon in my life is rare

You’re my rose in the darkest of nights

 

 

Cameron D Hamilton 03/08/2016


 

22 thoughts on “A Rose in the Night

  1. “I can always count on you to be there
    In the moments I feel less than alright
    A positive beacon in my life is rare
    You’re my rose in the darkest of nights”

    Every girl, whether they consciously do it or not, likes to picture themselves as the subject of the poem they read or the love song they listen to. This one has me swooning and feeling very lucky 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww ❤❤

      I adore this piece its so longingly pretty.
      I certainly have someone in mind in this but I love it’s heartwarming comfort that someone can make you feel this way

      I’ve never made anyone swoon with my work certainly not that I’ve been told. I hope your not the only one but if you are then I’ll still be happy 😄❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww ❤ Thank you so much
      I really love this piece, it’s a special piece that started with simply seeing my rose garden at night and evolved into a tribute of sorts to someone very special to me.
      I’m so happy you liked this 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m trying to arrange my thoughts because they are spasming over this. I can’t escape the image of the rose being angelic, bringing light and salvation to the despairing. And your use of “rose” has a favorite song of mine in my head, English Rose by Ed Sheeran. I love this, Cam, gorgeous admiration for such a beautiful delicate thing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I honestly don’t think I can. That heart on my sleeve is stiched with unbreakable thread and no matter how many times it breaks or shatters it never falls off….I think there’s a poem in that 😄
      So glad you liked this, a simple inspiration for my very own rose garden. I see it every day and every night but sometimes you forget the sheer inspiring beauty something like that holds.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

