Enter Sandman

metallica-logo.jpg

I couldn’t tell who the figure was
He didn’t belong here whoever he was
Living alone I was on the defensive
Justifiably reacting, fearfully aggressive

 

Cascading softly onto the carpet
Twinkling from the gentle light of the moon
No sound, just the terror in his eyes
Sand pours slowly as he tragically dies

 

An intruder shown no mercy or quarter
A brutal and horrific slaughter
He was laid to rest on the bedroom floor
As consequence, I would rest no more

 

With no blood, just sand that glistened in the light
I finally realised who I butchered tonight
The sandman was dead by my terror struck hand
I fell to the floor, no longer able to stand

 

The sandman’s body crumbled before me
Till there was nothing but sand left to see
Speechless, tears start to roll down my face
Disgusted, distraught over this utter disgrace

 

Desperation drove my hands into the sand
“Don’t be dead, get up” I tried to tearfully command
The sparkling grains of sand trickled through my fingers
Fading growing dull, life force refused to linger

 

Tears fell to the sand and it started to change
A light rekindled but acting very strange
Crawling on my skin I was quickly enveloped
This wasn’t what I asked for but more than I hoped

 

Reflected in the window the light shone bright
A new sandman would soon take flight
Fears melted away replaced with purpose
To enter the dream filled sandman service

 

No more to sleep, no more to dream
This is how I’ll be redeemed
I’ve taken the life of a guardian of light
All because I overreacted in fright

 

The penance for my horrific attack
A life awake, but as no insomniac
No more to sleep, but to deliver dreams
Dancing quietly amongst moonbeams

 

Cameron D Hamilton 18/07/2016


6 thoughts on “Enter Sandman

Leave a Reply

