Rudely Awoken #10

My Dear I Truly Love You

 

Look at you so peaceful

So comfy, so relaxed

What a little angel

Lying on your back

It’s time to roll you over

Stop your thunderous snores

Mr dear I truly love you

But you rattle the bedroom door

 

Its a good thing that I love you

I’m a rather patient man

Seriously you have to stop

I’ll start a sleepover ban

Respite for a moment

Before you start again

My dear I truly love you

But my word you are a pain

 

Lovingly waking you up

In order to stop the snoring

I get smacked in the head

You’re working in the morning

YOU’RE working in the morning

YOU’RE WORKING IN THE MORNING!

My dear I truly love you

I hope you reach the morning

 

How dare you sleep

How dare you rest

How dare you chastise me

How dare you snooze

How dare you slumber

How dare you awaken me

My dear I truly love you

I just wish you were snore free

 

 

I’m actually going to kill you

Don’t you even dare test me

I will smother you with my pillow

It would be remarkably easy

Gently over your face

End your infernal snores

Mr dear I truly love you

But tonight is it a chore

 

Cameron D Hamilton 17/07/2016


This poem marks the finale of the ‘Rudely Awoken’ series.  I hope that everyone reading my poems has enjoyed the nonsensical whimsy.  If you’ve missed any of the series, or fancy having a look back all the links to the previous nine poems are below

01 – Time To Get Up Sweetheart

02 – The 4am Text From Work

03 – The House Creeks At Night

04 – Rattling Upon Wood

05 – Thunderclap

06 – The Helicopter Curiosity

07 – When One Cat Met Another

08 – The Sleepy Helpdesk

09 – Drunken Revelry On A Residential Street

4 thoughts on “Rudely Awoken #10

Leave a Reply

