Rudely Awoken #02

The 4am Text From Work

 

Phone lays beside my sleepy head

Vibrations rumble though my bed

Message received via text

Waking me, feeling vexed

Grumpily I stir

Maybe it’s a message from her

I want to ignore it

Just forget it

Do you need to check it

I really can’t help it

What if the text is her

Making my phone purr

I check

It’s not her

 

Why is work texting me

Don’t they know I’m fast asleep

Its barely even four o’clock

Do they really need to talk

Don’t they know I’m in early this morning

Wait

Can this not wait till morning

Panic struck from message received

I think I may have been deceived

Whose bright idea was this

Is someone there taking the piss

The message I’ve received is blank

I am supposed to reply with thanks!

How do you expect me to get back to sleep now

Go on, I’m waiting, tell me how

 

Angry but curious I call work back

No-one answers, panic attack

Dial the number again and again

Patience is really starting to wane

Fury starts to boil over

Truly woken from my slumber

On a telephonic warpath

Someone’s going to feel my wrath

Someone’s going to answer for this

How dare they wake me up like this

How do you expect me to get back to sleep now

Go on, I’m waiting, tell me how

 

Finally an answer

Angrily they answer

Excuse me

I’m the one that’s disturbed

Stow your attitude

I will be heard

They can’t offer any explanation

They demand my explanation

You’re the one who messaged me

Check the log and you will see

I’m meant to get up in a couple hours

You berate me

Flaunting your power

“Maybe it was when we were fixing the carrier”

Oh you think that answer will make me happier

I bet you said it through a moronic smirk

That’s not how a mobile phone works

 

Venomous rage courses through my veins

Lusting to cause someone pain

Someone will be taking the blame

That manager should be ashamed

Not one word of apology

Perpetuating idiotic ideologies

I hate you

I despise you

I do

I truly do

Whats the problem with you

Urgh, this call is through

How do you expect me to get back to sleep now

Go on, I’m waiting, tell me how

 

There’s nothing I can do right now

I’ll have to fix it in the morning

Complain in the morning

Demand justice in the morning

Kill someone in the morning

Utter lack of respect

What should I expect

Management never cares

This proves I don’t get treated fair

How do you expect me to get back to sleep now

Go on, I’m waiting, tell me how

 

Cameron D Hamilton 11/07/2016


5 thoughts on “Rudely Awoken #02

Leave a Reply

