The Coastal Guardian

Did you know there’s a dragon that lives by the beach?
Protecting the coastline so aggressors can’t reach
Benevolently keeping an ever watchful eye
Quietly nestled on a perch, while the world goes by

 

A peaceful hilltop legend of local fame
Yet no one I speak to can tell me your name
Still you graciously defend the town all the same
Ready and waiting to spew molten flame

 

If the Vikings ever dare to return
Seeing you on guard will cause them concern
Fearing you may cause their longboats to burn
They’ll turn back to the ocean, successfully spurned

 

A friend to the town so you needn’t be scared
But threaten us with harm and you should beware
Our dormant defender with its stony glare
To all invaders the stuff of nightmares

 

Stood on your hilltop always on watch alone
But the townsfolk can visit and relax by your throne
Faithfully protecting us for as long as I’ve known
Our coastal guardian, the Irvine Dragonstone

 

Cameron D Hamilton 06/07/2016


Irvine is a town on the south west coast of Scotland.  It’s a lovely place to live, if you don’t mind the people.  As a coastal town, Irvine does have itself a beach.  It’s nothing to shout about.  It could be, but it’s plagued with poor water conditions.  It’s still a nice place to go for a walk and lovely in good weather, just don’t go in the water.  One odd landmark is the Dragonstone.  A large stone sculpture of a dragon that sits atop a hill by the Ayrshire Coastal Path, overlooking the beach and ocean.  I’ve been visiting it since I was a child but I don’t really know much about it.  All I can find out is that it’s a guardian again Vikings invading the country by sea.  Whenever I’m at the beach I like to walk over and say hello, it’s not the easiest to get to but it’s always worth it.  I though you lovely readers might enjoy seeing this local marvel and I hope you enjoy the little poem above.

 

13 thoughts on “The Coastal Guardian

    1. September sounds great, don’t forget to bring a heavy coat, it might get windy. It certainly isn’t going anywhere and I’m sure it has a lot to say!
      It’s pretty awesome, it’s not on any maps it’s just this oddity that only locals know about but I love it.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love this, Cameron. Seeing bits of your world and your beautiful country makes me smile. That dragon is super cool and hopefully someday I’ll get over there to see it myself. I like your spirit for exploration. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s such a brilliant little sculpture. I’ve been visiting since I was a child, but I still know nothing about it. It was a pretty overcast day when I went so I’m going to go back in good weather.
      If you do get over I’ll gladly introduce you, that whole coastal path is full of charm.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

