Rabbit Hunting

I see you there hiding in the tall long glass
Hop, hop, hopping away so fast
Bounding out of sight to a busy impasse
I try to snap a photo but my moment has pass

 

You’d think that the beach, would be an odd place
To spy a rabbit hopping about wild
Way too fast for my camera to chase
But seeing one sure made me smile

 

I’d love the capture with a camera lens
But I can’t seem to coax you back out
Standing here in a state of suspense
Were you real? I’m starting to doubt

 

Lost from my sight I patiently wait
I’ve got a photo that I want to take
Your reluctance to appear, is starting to frustrate
Please come out, for photography’s sake

 

Stood off to the side, my camera ready
Hoping that you’ll soon pass by
You’re resolve to stay hidden, holding steady
My patience beginning to run dry

 

I’m not photographer, I’m just a fan
Of adorably cute bunny rabbits
I wish I’d been prepared and had an actual plan
And maybe some better apparatus

 

It’s been close to half an hour and yet I remain
Hoping in vain you’ll appear
It’s looking unlikely, I’ll be able to obtain
A picture of you in the clear

 

I circle around your thistle covered home
Looking for a better vantage point
Your burrow hidden deep, where no man can roam
You illusiveness has begun to disappoint

 

I’m not alone here at the oceanfront
The other visitors must think that I’m insane
Dancing around a bush on a rabbit hunt
Questioning why I still remain

 

I don’t even know what I’d do
With a photo if I happened to get it
I think my patience is officially through
It’s time that I say, goodbye rabbit

 

It seems that today there’ll be no picture for me
The pesky bunny is way out of my reach
Burrowed in a bush, there’s nothing I can see
Thus ending my day at the beach


 

5 thoughts on “Rabbit Hunting

    1. Thank you so much. I’m really annoyed I couldn’t get pictures of the bunny.
      I think I might go back tomorrow. I totally need a proper camera though all this was just from my phone. Got a ton of photos down the harbour as well.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I was actually hunting swans but I was out too early. There’s also a duck with three little ducklings I saw them yesterday but my phone wasn’t doing as it was told.
          Was cold and overcast this morn but it’s lovely now. Tomorrow might be a better day.
          That wascally wabbit shall be mine!!

          Like

  1. Hey Cameron! So, I was just strolling around the wide blogosphere of writers, and wanted to know if you were interested in participating in a blogging/writing collaboration-journey-adventure in the somewhat near future with me and a few other bloggers. I can’t say too much about it right now – the details are TOP SECRET – but it will basically be a short-term, not-too-labor-intensive, super-mega-fun creative project that will have everyone else be like “damn, why didn’t I sign up to be a part of this project when they asked me to?” If you’re interested, reply here and/or drop me a line at jacobh1021 at yahoo dot com. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

