Sleep deprivation

 

Bleary eyes

Tired sighs

Extended yawns

Awake too long

Sleep deprived

My rest denied

Lay in bed

 

Really sore head

My logic twisting

Leg keeps twitching

It’s never ending

Mind needs mending

I’ve physical pains

Mental strains

Still awake

With no escape

 

Sleep denied

Pattern modified

True insomniac

Or hypochondriac

When will you provide

The sleep that’s been denied

Mind so occupied

Empty it, I’ve tried

Please will you believe

Please will you relieve

 

All the bad amplified

Will the torture ever subside

I’ve been mentally paralysed

Thoughts so very disorganised

So very very sleep deprived

Sleep and me we’re ostracised

All I want to do is cry

This torture isn’t justified

Sleep deprived

I can’t survive

 

Sleep…

 

Deprived…

 

I can’t…


16 thoughts on “Sleep deprivation

  1. rakhioverhere

    This is actual my story. Sometimes, I stay awake till the morning.
    Fabulous !
    This is different style of poem too. You had tried doing something authentic. And, it is !!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like to try new styles, I love what I normally do but I want this to be more jumbled and chaotic. Really glad you liked the change 😊
      I wrote it at 7am, no rest for my plagued mind. It’s not fun but I finished a few pieces, silver linings I suppose 😫😧

      Liked by 1 person

      1. rakhioverhere

        Now go get some sleep 😊 you are really a amazing work. So now you can sleep in peace. And enjoy your dreams. So that you can write your dream again. And, we can read. 😊😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I went through sleep deprivation once and it was terrible. I am a lover of sleep – that sentence doesn’t quite do justice to how much I love sleep. I don’t even like the thought of sleep deprivation. Great post 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I love my sleep too! That’s what makes it worse. It’s a great concept for a poem but it’s hard to write until your in the throws of it then all the garbled logic just spills to the page and echoes your utter despair. I’m really glad you enjoyed this and I hope you always get the sleep you deserve 😄

      Like

    1. I haven’t had any alcohol since the start of January. Maybe seeing life in the sober light of day is what’s keeping me awake tormented. Haha!!
      I tried sleeping pills. Didn’t work, maybe too low a dosage but they had their chance I’ll just be cool and do ‘all  nighters’. People suffer to be cool right? Ahaha!! 😄

      Like

  3. This is such a strong piece! I had insomnia for a year after I graduated high school and this captures the feeling of the torture of being awake for far too long perfectly. The soundcloud link of your poem being read aloud makes it even better. Fantastic job 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. 💖
      I’ve been tortured with insomnia on and off for many many years. I’m really glad it resonated I wrote it in the throws of lack of sleep.😫
      Awww, im so happy you like the reading. I’ve been doing them a bit more but I’m always scared about how they go over or if anyone understands through the accent.😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had no trouble understanding the reading, I think it was all very clear and well done. Plus if someone did have any difficulties they could always follow along since you have your piece posted below so I wouldn’t worry about it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

