The Emptiness Inside

 

 

Consumed by a craving
A need to fill a hole
Feeling hollow, chasing
Some comfort for my soul

 

To feel that rush of pleasure
Coursing through my veins
My friend in times of leisure
Chasing away my pains

 

A temporary reprieve
From every day stress
Helping to alleviate
Thoughts that my distress

 

I come to you to be sated
You’re always willing to share
Yet sometimes my desires deflated
When I discover you’ve no joy to spare

 

Drained, by an arrogant need
For a brief moment, of sheer ecstasy
Your contents being used to feed
A desire for quiet serenity

 

Your goodwill has been erased
Generosity abused
Never thinking it needs to be replaced
Emptied with no gratitude

 

It’s true that I’m very self involved
I never give as much as I take
For these simple pleasure to continue at all
I must keep you filled, for both of our sakes

 

There’s no denying that I’m upset
By your cold and empty reflection
Tears of despair and regret
It’s not your fault, that I feel rejection

 

I’ve been so preoccupied
But there’s nobody else to blame
Your emptiness unjustified
Fills me with terrible shame

 

I always thought you’d be there
Offering salvation to me
I know I’ve not treated you fair
I’m nothing better that an uncaring thieve

 

What a deplorable person I am
Treating you with such disregard
Not even giving a damn
As you help out when my life gets hard

 

A metaphor of a selfish life
Much to my chagrin
Echoing my own internal strife
The perils of an empty biscuit tin

20160622_184040.jpgIn response to Daily Prompt Empty


As a quick aside I’d like to mention that this is the first time I’ve ever uploaded a reading of one of my poems.  I’m trying to push out of my comfort zone and I hope everyone reading likes the addition.

 

Cameron D Hamilton

13 thoughts on “The Emptiness Inside

    1. Ahaha!!! Oh how you flatter 😶❤ Thank you so much, I do so love reading an “amazeballs” from you!! I’ve been writing so disjointed lately it’s nice that this one holds its simple flow. I’m really glad you enjoyed it 😊❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. So fantastic! All of it! The poem and the reading! I’m so happy to hear your voice, and your wonderful accent. 🙂 Keep it up! Oh, and I’ll be responding to your email after a short nap. Eyelids heavy…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought you might like that 😋. I never said anything so you’d be surprised. It is quite a wonderful accent isn’t it 😉 It’s always really weird listening back. I’m really glad you enjoy it all was a fun one to write. Don’t you go rushing with emails, im going nowhere!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Oooh my, fancy? My dear you do bestow me with high regard. I live with it every day so I don’t tend to give it much attention. If you enjoyed it that’s all that matters, maybe as I get more comfortable recording it’ll get even better. I don’t know how I’d describe your voice, it’s gentle, soothing ever so sultry. It’s a storytellers voice one that weaves through narratives keeping composure and drawing the listener in. proper but not formal, each word is confident and graceful. Maybe I do know how to describe. Haha!

          Liked by 1 person

            1. I don’t really know if its writing, more thinking out loud with my hands. I’m certainly not one for brevity, if you’re getting a compliment it’ll spiral into something quite grand. I’d question being honoured, I’m an insane bitter old man my logic is questionable. Ahaha!!! 😂😉😋

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Bitter? Insane? Old man? I can’t question the first because that’s in the eye of the beholder. Again…if you’re insane the I right there with you. Old? I’m fairly sure I’m older. 😉

                Liked by 1 person

                1. That’s true and the bitterness is in flux. I do like meeting fellow sanity challenged people, we do make fun artists. Oh and I would never presume upon a lady. Young of mind and spirit I say. Besides I don’t care much for numbers they confuse me, It’s all about how you feel. Or who you feel. Or cake. Or rabbits. If there is one thing I’m fairly sure of is my age has brought wisdom to buy fireproof clothing but my insanity prevents me from wearing it when wrangling dragons.

                  Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

