Heart on My Sleeve

I’ve always live my life with my heart on my sleeve
Open to the world, but ever so naive

 

When troubles come by, I can find it hard to cope
It gets a little hard to focus in on hope

 

Being so open can lead me to despair
With daily reminders, that nobody really cares

 

I’ve never understood, why such an innocent heart
Could be treated so poorly, callously torn apart

 

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not always bad
There’s more to this heart than just feeling sad

 

When I’m happy it’s like, I’ve never felt more alike
It give me hope that my hearts built to survive

 

I don’t think I’d have it any other way
I’d rather feel my emotions than be dull and grey

 

Though the bad is torture, the good’s a delight
My heart on my sleeve always feels right

 

Emotionally complex is one point of view
Hyper sensitive is a little more true

 

Life is an adventure right from the start
Perilous but exciting, for those with an open heart

 

I believe that being so open, gives me a creative spark
It can help when the world around you gets a little dark

 

As long as I always stay true to myself
I can weather any storm that might overwhelm

 

I might disappear for a while, if ever I feel broken
But my heart will never close, It’ll always remain open

 

So don’t worry if you see me and I’m looking down
The way my emotions work, I’ll soon turn it around

 

Heart on sleeve image


In response to Daily Prompt Open

2 thoughts on “Heart on My Sleeve

Leave a Reply

