Today I spoke to her…

Today I spoke to her
The girl I loved
It was terrifying
But with that first word
All fears melted away
We had so many stories
Shared so many smiles
There was so much laughter
But not enough time

Today I spoke to her
The girl I admire
I’ve missed her voice
Her thoughts
Her opinions
Respected above all others
Words calm and excite
Oh how I’ve missed our talks

Today I spoke to her
The girl, my friend
I thought she was lost
I thought she’d forgotten
I thought silly thoughts
We need to speak more
Silence is no friend

Today I spoke to her
The girl I adore
Heart in my throat
Captivated as she spoke
It’s been a while
Nothing has changed
Same girl, same comfort
Same wit, same intrigue
Life feels complete
When I have her around

Today I spoke to her

The girl

I still love

2 thoughts on “Today I spoke to her…

Leave a Reply

